You are here

Janet B. Parks NASSM Research Grant

The North American Society for Sport Management is pleased to announce the Janet B. Parks NASSM Research Grant. This grant is intended to advance scholarship in sport management by providing support to NASSM members as they pursue projects of importance to the field.


Each year, grant amounts will depend upon NASSM Treasurer’s recommendations; however, a total grant pool amount expected not to be less than $5,000 per year will be the norm. Typically, multiple grants are awarded each year; therefore, applicants should anticipate a total grant pool amount of $5,000 each year to be split among all grant awardees when developing proposal budgets. No more than five (5) awards will be given in a year. Awards will be announced at the Annual Conference in conjunction with the conference banquet.


Applicants should indicate their intent to apply in an email to the current President-Elect and Committee Chair, Bri Newland <bri.newland@nyu.eduby February 14, 2021. Upon receipt of this email, applicants will be provided with instructions and a link for uploading their grant proposal via Dropbox.

Final submissions are due by March 14, 2021. Grant proposals uploaded after this deadline will not be accepted.


Proposals should follow the following guidelines:

  1. In addition to completing the coversheet, authors should include a proposal of no more than 2,500 words (including references, tables, and figures) that clearly outlines: (a) purpose of the study, (b) theoretical framework, (c) proposed methods, (d) analytical strategy, (e) expected results, and (f) significance of the findings to the field of sport management.
  2. Institutional Review Board (IRB) approval of the research should be obtained prior to submitting the proposal. A copy of the approval notice should be appended.
  3. Authors should include an itemized budget of expenses within the following parameters:
    • Funds shall not be expended for equipment normally provided by an institution, or for expenses not directly related to data collection.
    • Travel costs are limited to those required for the collection of data. Funds shall not be expended to present findings at conferences.
    • Indirect costs cannot exceed 10% of the total project and should be included in the final budget proposal.
    • Expenses should not pre-date the award.
  4. Proposals should follow APA guidelines, be in electronic form, and uploaded to Dropbox using the link provided after indicating an intent to apply.
  5. All work must be scheduled to be completed within a year of the date the grant is awarded.
  6. Only one proposal per investigator (whether primary or otherwise) per year is allowed.
  7. Primary investigators with funded grants are eligible to apply again three years from date that grant was initially submitted, provided all grant requirements have been met. 


Proposals will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  1. Alignment with the mission of NASSM (20%)
  2. Originality of the research in the sport management field (25%)
  3. Clearly articulated (a) purpose of the study, (b) theoretical framework, (c) proposed methods, (d) analytical strategy, (e) expected results, and (f) significance of the findings (50%)
  4. Additional consideration will be given to new investigators (i.e., persons who earned their terminal degree less than five years before the grant submission) (5%)


The principal investigator must be a current professional member and must have been a NASSM member for the previous two consecutive years prior to the application. All co-investigators listed on the application must be a current professional member of NASSM in good standing at the time of the application. (Note: NASSM membership runs from Jan 1- Dec 31.  Applicants must be current members at time of application).


Award recipients are expected to adhere to the following guidelines:

  1. Demonstrate a commitment to completing the work and submitting to NASSM outlets (e.g., conference, journals) as a first priority.
  2. Submit status reports on the progress of the research as requested by the committee.
  3. Retain their membership within NASSM for at least one (1) year post-award.
  4. Present a summary of findings for NASSM’s use in promoting the grant program and its recipients.
  5. Include the following statement in all written documents including publications and presentation materials, and print and electronic communications that result from successful funding: “This work was supported by funds received from the Janet B. Parks NASSM Research Grant Program.” 

Additional Information

The following stipulations also apply:

  1. All grants are made payable to the principal investigator’s university/institution.
  2. All unexpended funds must be returned to NASSM in full within 60 days of the final written report.
  3. Principal Investigators must assume personal responsibility for the proposal, execution of the research plan, and presentation of the results.


The Janet B. Parks NASSM Research Grant Review Committee consists of the President-Elect (Chair), three Research Fellows, and the Dr. Earle F. Zeigler Award winner from the previous year (2019).

Past Research Grant Winners

  • 2020:
    • Rhema Fuller,  University of Memphis; Trevor Bopp, University of Florida; & Robert Turick, Ball State University
    • Per Svensson, Louisiana State University
  • 2019:
    • Akira Asada, Texas Tech University
    • James Du & Hanhan Xue, Florida State University
    • Zack Damon, University of Central Arkansas
  • 2018:
    • Joshua Lupinek, University of Alaska Fairbanks; Rui Biscaia, Coventry University
    • Leeann M. Lower, Richard J. Buning, & W. Andrew Czekanski, The Ohio State University
    • Eric Legg, Arizona State University
    • Yonghwan Chang, University of Minnesota
  • 2017:
    • Trevor Bopp, University of Florida
    • Greg Greenhalgh, Virginia Commonwealth University; Jess Dixon, University of Windsor; Cheri Bradish, Ryerson University         
    • Yongjae Kim, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania; Seungbum Lee, University of Akron; Namhun Lim, Indiana University 
    • Nels Popp, University of North Carolina
    • Brian (Hyong Il) Yim & Mark Lyberger, Kent State University
  • 2016:
    • Yuhei Inoue, University of Minnesota
    • Shannon Kerwin & Kirsty Spence, Brock Univeristy
    • John Welty Peachey, University of Illinois
    • Katie Flanagan, Florida State University
    • Carrie LeCrom, Virginia Commonwealth University